Danube Commission

The Danube Commission is an international organization, established for the implementation of Convention regarding the regime of navigation on the Danube River, signed in Belgrade on 18 August 1948.

The primary goal of the Danube Commission is to promote activities that support the development of free navigation on the Danube River for all vessels that sail under the flag of riparian countries.
Member states of the Danube Commission are: Germany, Austria, Slovakia, Hungary, Serbia, Croatia, Romania, Bulgaria, Moldova, Ukraine and Russia. Since 1954 the Danube Commission is situated in Budapest, Hungary. The official languages of the Danube Commission are Russian, French and German.

Member states participate in the work of the Danube Commission through different expert groups concerned with navigation and through the main session on Ambassadors’ level. Experts from the Directorate for Inland Waterways Plovput participate in the work of the Danube Commission’s main session as well as the Expert Group for hydro technical issues.

RSSPlovput FacebookPlovput TwitterPlovput InstagramPlovput Youtube

download documents


Photo Gallery


Stakeholders' Forum

Danube Glossary 2019

Danube Stream